How many switches does it take to turn on a light?

18 May

I don’t know about you, but I always feel like a fraud staying in fancy hotels.  I always expect them to kick me out on the street for being a scuzzy backpacker. 

This weekend, my mum looked after the children so that Steve and I could have our first night away in almost three years.  We got a really good deal on the internet and ended up at the five star Waldorf Hilton in central London.

Despite being a 37 year old mother of three, I was still slightly nervous as we checked in, but luckily they didn’t notice I shouldn’t be there and we made it up to our room.  Our second challenge was to turn on the lights.  The room had eight light switches, all of which turned on a different combination of lights or plunged the room into complete darkness.  We never did mangage to work them out properly, and I ended up waking Steve at two in the morning when I went to the loo and turned on every light in the place with a single switch.

And it wasn’t just the lights, everything seemed to be needlessly complicated. There were three different computer plugs, to go up one channel on the TV, you needed to press the channel up button twice (that one took me a while to figure out) and the shower was hilarious. It had six water spouters in various places around the cubicle. Two of them where obviously supposed to massage your shoulders, but as I’m only five foot two, they were pretty much at eye level. It was all rather disconcerting.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a very comfortable hotel and we had a lovely time, but the whole experience made me think that I’m more suited to budget travel than to 5 star luxury. It’s all so much more simple if you only have one light switch.

2 Responses to “How many switches does it take to turn on a light?”

  1. Laura Driver 22/05/2009 at 10:38 am #

    Light switches in hotels are the bane of my life.

    When I stayed at Disney recently I had to keep getting out of bed to work out which switch did what.

    It’s like a game, a test of endurance.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 22/05/2009 at 11:20 am #

      Why do they do it? It’s so unrelaxing, not to mention unromantic when you plunge entire room into blaze worthy of Blackpool Illuminations.

Leave a Reply

