Love sushi?

10 Apr

Tsukiji Market

If you do, Tsukiji Market in Tokyo market is one of life’s great experiences.

They sell every kind of fish it is possible to eat, but the market is most famous for it’s tuna.  You have to get up before the crack of dawn to see the tuna auction and I am not a morning person.  But there was still plenty to see when we arrived at six thirty am.

The guy at the back of the picture is cutting up the tuna, and the guys on the right are negotiating a price for the beautiful fillets, probably for a restaurant.

We rounded off our trip with breakfast at a little sushi bar on the edge of the market, and I had the freshest sushi I have ever tasted.  My husband wimped out and just had a coffee!

 

This post is part of Photo Friday at Delicious Baby.  For more pictures, click here.

14 Responses to “Love sushi?”

  1. Lucia 10/04/2009 at 3:04 pm #

    One of the most interesting and possibly dangerous places in Tokyo! So much action….flying fish, shouting, trucks, and little carts zooming around. And you are right. Some of the best sushi!

  2. itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/04/2009 at 3:10 pm #

    I agree, I loved the fact that the market had it’s own traffic cop standing on a box in the middle with his white gloves!

  3. Carolina 10/04/2009 at 3:51 pm #

    All this talk of sushi is making me hungry. What a great experience, you never forget a great meal.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/04/2009 at 3:56 pm #

      I agree, my father still talks about an apple pie he ate in a French restaurant in the 1970’s! My husband and I spend many a happy evening reminiscing about meals we’ve eaten in interesting places.

  4. Beth Whitman 10/04/2009 at 4:14 pm #

    I’m not a big sushi fan but I am a morning person and it would still be great to see this!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/04/2009 at 4:38 pm #

      It’s definitely worth seeing, whether you like sushi or not. It was more like a town than a market, only a town where every shop was fish related!

  5. wandermom 10/04/2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Adding this to my list of things to-do when we visit Tokyo!

  6. marina villatoro 10/04/2009 at 6:59 pm #

    Now that’s sushi the real way! Gritty and fun!
    Photo Friday – Hope!

  7. twokidsandamap 11/04/2009 at 1:55 am #

    That sounds like a great experience. I like sushi, but I don’t know how I feel about it in its semi original state!!!

  8. Lorraine 11/04/2009 at 3:14 am #

    This is a fun capture that represents a slice of authentic Tokyo life. I’ve never been there, but thanks for planting the seed!

  9. Peter Carey 11/04/2009 at 5:52 pm #

    As a lover of sushi, it’s great to see some of the ‘pre action’. It’s on my Tokyo list if I ever make it over there.

  10. itsasmallworldafterallfamily 11/04/2009 at 8:31 pm #

    Tokyo is a truly fascinating place. I would recommend it to anyone.

  11. Dominique 12/04/2009 at 1:43 pm #

    This photo really seems to “capture the moment”. Great shot.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A trip down memory lane, river, jungle trail and highway « It's a small world after all - 21/09/2009

    […] up at dawn to explore Tokyo’s huge, bustling,  Tsukiji Fish Market.  Bizarre fish, fork lift trucks being directed by a white gloved, traffic policeman standing on […]

Leave a Reply

