How does she walk in those?

3 Apr

Tokyo shoes

One of my abiding memories of Japan will be how amazing the teenagers looked.  Many hours must have been spent planning their sometimes spectacular outfits, with attention to detail being paramount.  I was particularly tickled to find ‘sock glue’ on sale, to make sure that your artfully wrinkled knee socks didn’t slip down too far.  When we got back to London everyone suddenly looked very drab.

I am taking part in Photo Friday at Delicious Baby as an excuse to dig out some old photos.  For more photos from other people, click here.

10 Responses to “How does she walk in those?”

  1. Lucia 03/04/2009 at 2:37 pm #

    Thank for also taking me back in time to Japan…how had I forgotten about that sock glue?! And that’s a great shot of crazy shoes. Where and when were you in Japan?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/04/2009 at 4:24 pm #

      We had a fantastic holiay, pre-kids, about 9 years ago. I’ve always wanted to go to Japan, and it didn’t disappoint. I took tons of photos, so I’ll probably post a few more eventually. In those days I took slides, so a bit harder to put them online. Re London, if you want any more tips etc, just let me know. Tell me what kinds of things you normally like to do and I’ll have a think. That post was only a small selection of the stuff we like doing and I’m planning to do a few more posts when we do trips over the summer.

  2. Beth Whitman 03/04/2009 at 2:43 pm #

    We are SO practical. I love this photo as a reminder of how offbeat life should be!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/04/2009 at 4:27 pm #

      It’s all too easy to get caught up in nap schedules and after school clubs, isn’t it? That’s what I love about travelling, it takes you away from ‘normal’ life.

  3. DeliciousBaby 03/04/2009 at 8:21 pm #

    I wish I had the presence of mind to get shots like this one when we were in Japan – perhaps I need to make a return trip!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/04/2009 at 4:25 pm #

      We visited Japan pre-kids, so I had a bit more time on my hands! I was fascinated by the teenagers’ fashions, so I took loads of shots. Maybe I’ll put some more up on future Photo Fridays – it’s a great idea by the way.

  4. marina villatoro 03/04/2009 at 11:30 pm #

    wow, i can’t walk in those shoes at my age!
    Photo Friday, 2000 Crocodiles…Where?

  5. twokidsandamap 03/04/2009 at 11:30 pm #

    I don’t think I could have walked in those shoes as a teenager and I know I couldn’t walk in them now!

  6. Angela K. Nickerson 05/04/2009 at 6:34 am #

    I am with you — the teens in Japan are fabulous! I spent a month there studying the school system, and what I saw IN school was so different from what the kids did OUT of school. Great photo! 🙂

  7. Dominique 06/04/2009 at 6:22 pm #

    I love wild shoes (Tim has to get me a shoe-of-the-day calendar every year)…but I’m not up to wearing some of them! These are pretty over the top 😆

Leave a Reply

