blogging about blogging

12 Mar

Ever since I discovered my first two family travel blogs, Six in the World and The Fleming Family’s Travels, I’ve been hooked.  Through these blogs, and many others, I’ve been able to live vicariously and dream about travelling with my family.  I’ve pored over every detail, from what they packed, to how they dealt with everything from sleeping arrangements to homesickness. 

The blogs I like most, deal with the nitty gritty of travelling.  I’d rather hear about what people eat for breakfast and how they cope with parenting without the comforts of home, than read another description of how amazing Ankor Wat is.   That’s not to say that I’m not interested in Ankor Wat, it’s just that after a while the descriptions all sound a bit samey.   One of my favourite blog posts ever was this list of what one person ate during a day in Bangkok.   It was quite a short post, full of pictures, and it took me straight back to the sights, sounds and smells of one of my favourite cities.

I also love reading about people’s travel preparations, partly from a practical point of view, but partly because its nice to be able to feel you are in the same boat as others.  Our friends are supportive of our plans, but no one we know has actually taken a long trip with their children.  Whilst we are in this planning phase, it’s nice to be able to read about the worries and excitment of others, and reassure myself that my fears are normal.  I’ve also found the travelling with children forums on Lonely Planet and Bootsnall really helpful.

So for now, I’m poring over packing lists and checking out what jabs other people got.  Maybe one day, my blog will prove useful to someone else starting out.

3 Responses to “blogging about blogging”

  1. Amanda 16/03/2009 at 4:39 am #

    Hi, We are heading off on our rtw trip in Dec 09 with our 4 kids from Western Australia. I am busy looking into setting up our blog. You have done great things so far. Have you found it difficult to get set up?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 16/03/2009 at 2:09 pm #

      No, it’s been pretty easy. I’m using WordPress, which I’ve found quite straightforward. I’ve gone for the most basic kind, so I haven’t had to do any programming, I’ve just signed up, chosen a theme and started writing. In an ideal world, I’d like to have a few more choices (you can do this if you host your own site and use WordPress), but I decided to go for the no fuss option which involves WordPress doing everything. A site I really like, which is the more customised version of WordPress is the Wide Wide World – it looks really nice and has lots of little extra features.

      Where are you going on your trip? We are definitely going to WA, as I loved it when I visited almost 20 years ago – it was my favourite part of Australia.

  2. Amanda 16/03/2009 at 11:37 pm #

    I have just started using WordPress – I elected to get our own web page and I’ve copied a lot of stuff from The WWW. It takes some fiddling around but I (hope!) I will get better! We are starting in Singapore and working thru Asia to Beijing, then Tokyo, India, Egypt, Turkey, Europe, USA, Hawaii – home.

Leave a Reply

