Out and about, the MAD blog awards carnival!

17 Aug

I’m a fan of getting out and about.  Whether it’s exploring a book maze a short bus ride away from our house, or staying in a Borneo village accessible only by boat, I don’t think there are many places you can’t take children.  So when I was asked to host the MAD Blog Award Carnival on the theme of Out and About, I said YES!

First up are some people after my own heart, who have blogged about taking their children abroad.  Dorkymum had a very big adventure in Canada, possibly TOO big if you ask her son.  The Sojourn Series went to Prague and discovered that pretty much anywhere is good with small children as long as you’ve got a swimming pool.  Kiddycharts has been to Austria twice in the summer and thinks the mountains are a great destination for children.  I couldn’t agree more, having had a lovely holiday in Switzerland a few years ago.  Actually Mummy visited the vineyards in Catalunya and can report that the wine was very good!

I almost didn’t include this one because I was so jealous that the Transatlantic Blonde was travelling to Mallorca WITHOUT her children. But hey, I’m generous.

I’m also a fan of tourism at home, discovering what you can find in your local area.  Yesterday we went to a rainbow beach, walked through a maze made of books and became citizens of Antarctica.  All for the price of a bus ride. Ever so slightly less successful on the outing front was Relentless Laundry.  I know it’s wrong to laugh at someone else’s misfortune, but she does tell the story very well.  And I now know why she chose her blog name.  Baby Budgeting has a very lovely friend who told her about a scarecrow festival which kept her children happy for a whole afternoon; we all need friends like that!  Little Sheep had a lovely day at Birmingham Thinktank, a place I’ve never been but now want to visit.  Northern Mum has been holidaying in the UK and is extolling the virtues of caravans, just as long as you don’t mind leaving your sex life at home.  Next time, I’d recommend she takes a tent.  And Geek Mummy has had her first proper family day out, it’s lovely when everything goes well and everybody enjoys themselves.

If you’re feeling crafty and want to make use of any ‘treasure’ from your latest outing to the park, have a look at Science Sparks Outdoor Craft Adventure post.  It’s a lovely idea and perfect even for little ones.  Also perfect for little ones is Red Ted Art’s leaf crown, especially lovely with Autumn leaves.

Family budgeting has tips for eating out without breaking the bank, very useful when you’ve got a horde of kids!  And last but not least, All Baby Advice tells us what it’s really like to get your heart’s desire and actually own a Stokke Xplory.

So that’s it, I hope we’ve inspired you with our tales of getting out and about.  There are still three weeks of the summer holidays to go!

9 Responses to “Out and about, the MAD blog awards carnival!”

  1. Jill 17/08/2012 at 8:09 am #

    What a lovely list of places to visit I’m very jealous . For me if I could go it would be Cornwall !have a fab weekend

  2. maggy, red ted art 17/08/2012 at 8:18 am #

    Oooh a great round up! Thank you so much for including the leaf crowns (I love them SOOOO much!)

    Maggy

  3. ScienceSparks (@ScienceSparks) 17/08/2012 at 8:30 am #

    Thanks for including Science Sparks xx

  4. WallyMummy 17/08/2012 at 11:08 am #

    Some great blogs there ;) amazingly I have taken my 8 month old on three abroad holidays so far (yes I am insane) but I figured while she’s still immobile pack them in now! The 1st time we went she was 4 and a half weeks old and we travelled to Mexico – amazingly that was probably the easiest… She spent most of her time breastfeeding and snoozing in the shade all of which I could conduct from my sun lounger :))) xxx the other two I don’t talk about now *flinches* lol xxx lovely post!

  5. Actually Mummy 17/08/2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Oooh some of those almost sound too good to read! Thanks for including mine :)

  6. Mirka Moore (@Kahanka) 17/08/2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Wow, plenty of interesting posts to read when on holidays in Cyprus next week. Thank you for mentioning mine too ;)

  7. Emma 19/08/2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Thanks so much for including me! Sorry for the late comment. Have been in Italy for a few days! :)

  8. Transatlantic Blonde (@Melaina25) 22/08/2012 at 7:39 pm #

    If it makes you feel better I wish Blondie Boy would have been there with me!

  9. Littlesheep (@Littlesheep) 05/09/2012 at 8:26 pm #

    Thank you for including my post – we’ve been on lots more adventures this summer – must have a read of all the other posts now we’re back to school!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,818 other followers

