Gold Medallists

30 May

I love the Olympics.  I rarely take much interest in sports on TV, but there’s something about all the nations of the world competing together that does it for me.  The fact that this year they’re in my home town, makes me prouder than a proud thing.  And I have tickets!  I’m as excited as a small child on Christmas Eve, I probably won’t sleep a wink the night before the opening ceremony.

I’m pretty much interested in absolutely everything about the Olympics.  Nothing passes my notice.  So when Royal Mail asked me to write about their new stamps, I said YES!  Did you know that they’re producing a special stamp for every single one of the Team GB Gold Medallists, THE VERY NEXT DAY?  This is the first time it’s ever been done, at any Olympics anywhere.  Not the first Royal Mail Olympic stamps, obviously, they had them in 1948, but the first stamps commemorating individual gold medallists.

Throughout the games, the Royal Mail’s team of picture editors, graphic designers, printers and drivers will be on standby, waiting with baited breath and ready to swing into action when Team GB strikes gold.  Which they will often, I hope.  The main image of the stamp will, wherever possible, be a photograph of the Team GB athlete or team in action from their gold medal winning final. If it’s not, it’ll be taken from a heat or from their winning moment on the podium

The special stamps will be produced overnight and put on sale at 500 Post Offices by lunchtime the next day and on www.royalmail.com.  They will also be distributed  during the Games to a further 4,500 Post Offices nationwide.  Some Post Offices will even be open on Sundays for the first time!  There will also be Paralympic stamps and everything.

So, what do you think?  There’s an awful lot of Olympic inspired tat out there, but I do like a stamp.  I shall be buying.

Register your interest now and Be The First to get the new stamps!


One Response to “Gold Medallists”

  1. bosnia travel 11/09/2012 at 8:03 am #

    i try it and it’s good

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,380 other followers

