Final day

31 Oct

Today is our last day at home.

We’ve spent years dreaming, months organising, the last few days frantically clearing, cleaning and packing.  We’ve said goodbye to all of our best friends and most of our family.  We’re ready to go.  I think.

We’re excited.  We’ve looked at the Disneyland website and decided which rides we can’t miss.  Though I’m gutted that ‘it’s a small world’ is closed for maintenance, I had a vlog planned and everything.  We’ll just have to go in Tokyo.

But we’re also antsy, unsettled, nervous of what is to come.  Ned is dissolving into tears at tiny things, Dickon is throwing extravagant tantrums in supermarkets.  It’ll do us all good to get going and into the swing of things.  The uncertainty is difficult.

I feel like a tightly wound spring, with coils of excitment and anxiety fighting in opposite directions.  I can’t shake the feeling that if I allow myself to relax, something will go wrong.  I still can’t quite believe that it’s going to happen, that I’ve pulled it off.

I just want to get on the plane.

20 Responses to “Final day”

  1. Mrs Skinner 31/10/2010 at 11:40 am #

    My mother had a phrase -’You’ll be alright when you get there’ & for you it is ‘when you start’ As soon as you colose the front door the adventure begins for you all. I know we will hear from you along the way but you take my bestest good wishes for a wonderous experience!

  2. English Mum 31/10/2010 at 12:02 pm #

    So excited for you, my friend. Have a fabulous, fabulous time. I can’t wait to read all about it xx

  3. Kelly 31/10/2010 at 12:25 pm #

    I’m all emotional reading this. I cannot believe this day is finally here. I have been proud to follow your journey so far, and cannot wait to follow you every step of the way (well the bits you tweet and blog about of course).

    Bon voyage. Safe and happy travels. I will be here in new baby fog when you get back x

  4. Kate 31/10/2010 at 12:56 pm #

    It seemed to be taking ages to come around but the last month has just flown by. Have a WONDERFUL time. You’ll have a ball, I swear.

  5. Liz 31/10/2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Have a wonderful, wonderful time. What you are doing is amazing. Safe trip xx

  6. 21stcenturymummy 31/10/2010 at 1:23 pm #

    So jealous. You will have an amazing time. I look forward to reading all about it. x

  7. shar13 31/10/2010 at 2:16 pm #

    I know you’ve been planning for 3 years and I’ve only been ‘following’ you for about a year, but it seems to have come around so quickly. Have a great time, try to take everything in. I have a feeling it’ll be like your wedding day, when everything seems to go past in a blur as you’re so excited and have planned every detail for so long that you forget to enjoy it. Bon voyage, you know we’re all waiting for your tweets on your travels!

  8. Modern Dilemma 31/10/2010 at 3:00 pm #

    I could burst with excitement for you all. I remember exactly the feelings you are describing as the final hours passed before my own family went off on our big adventure. Once you are in the airport it will begin. Enjoy every single moment of your own enormous family adventure. It will change you all for the better.

    Much love and safe travel blessings to you all.

    MD xxxx

  9. Emma 31/10/2010 at 6:58 pm #

    I’m so excited and nervous for you all at the same time. It’s bringing all the same sort of feelings I was having this time last year as we packed up all our stuff to be shipped to Cyprus.

    Looking forward to hearing all about it!

  10. Marylin 31/10/2010 at 10:10 pm #

    I’m so excited for you all! What a nail-biting night this will be for you! Good luck, I will be reading about your trip with envy! :)

  11. Aquin 01/11/2010 at 2:34 am #

    All the best! I haven’t written in in a long time, but have been following all your final preparations. Great adventures lay ahead of you. Have fun, I am sure you will embrace every moment of it. – Aquin

  12. Home office mum 01/11/2010 at 9:36 am #

    I don’t know how I haven’t heard about you before but best of luck. What a fab adventure. Very brave of you to do it.

  13. Paula 01/11/2010 at 9:42 am #

    It’s today – really, really the day. Later on you’ll be getting on a plane and not looking back for nine whole months. It’s the beginning of something extraordinary, something that none of you will ever forget. Bon Voyage my friend, I’ll be right here tracking your adventures xxx

  14. Gigi (MumsRock) 01/11/2010 at 11:59 am #

    oh my goodness! Already? I feel a bit weepy myself (although that could just be the Monday thing). I cannot wait to travel vicariously with you. Can we go on the new Aerosmith roller coaster in the dark? It’s meant to be proper ‘Awesome’ as they say. Have an amazing beautiful incredible (and safe!) time. gigixx

  15. Julie and Richard 01/11/2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Have a safe flight & a brilliant time!!!

  16. Jo Beaufoix 01/11/2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Wow, have a wonderful fabulous amazing time lovely. Can’t wait to read about it. Wishing you lots of love and luck on your travels with your gorgeous family. Be safe and well. xx

  17. Rachel 01/11/2010 at 6:27 pm #

    Try and stay awake for the whole 9 months if you can, cos I guarantee it’ll feel like about 5 mins time that your writing ‘But we’re also antsy, unsettled, nervous of what is to come’ about coming home!!!
    Live every single millisecond xxxx

  18. Marina K. Villatoro 02/11/2010 at 3:07 pm #

    How exciting I can’t wait to read you adventures during that trip!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Final day « It's a small world after all -- Topsy.com - 31/10/2010

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Victoria Wallop and Victoria Wallop, Northern Man. Northern Man said: RT @vwallop: Final day: http://wp.me/psaAB-JX [...]

  2. Around the web in 20 clicks: in praise of bloggers - ENGLISH MUM - 31/10/2010

    [...] And finally, we waved goodbye to Wallop.  Victoria and her family set out on their epic adventure.  Good luck, guys! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,380 other followers

