Stuff with wires

30 Sep

Anyone who knows how much I blog, tweet and hang around on Facebook knows, I’m quite attached to both the internet as an entity and the technology which allows me to access it.  The thought of spending nine months entirely without this stuff, sends me into a cold sweat.  Add into this the fact that we’ll be educating the children ourselves without access to many books, the need to book hotel rooms and train tickets and the desire to communicate with friends and family, and the huge stack of black shiny stuff waiting to be packed makes perfect sense. *Steve rolls eyes*

Yesterday, and very kind man from Scooter Computer came and had a look at my stuff, tidied up my hard drive and offered plenty of useful advice.  So after much to-ing and fro-ing, I think I have finally decided what we are taking.

  1. Samsung N140 netbook: It’s slow and the screen is small, but it’s great for the internet, Skype and Word.  The slowness is more than offset by it’s dinky size, which means we won’t resent carrying it too much.
  2. WD external drive: Mr Scooter explained that the netbook will get even slower if we store even a little bit of stuff on it, so he moved my iTunes library, photo and video libraries onto a WD portable hardrive.  It’s very little, yet can hold a lot.  Mr Scooter did point out that I need to really look after it, as it’s not the most stable of devices, and that memory sticks are also really useful and virtually indestructible.  I shall be getting some of these.  I shall also use Flickr to back up my best photos and this blog to record my bon mots.
  3. iPhone 4:  We have a love hate relationship with this in our household, I love it, my husband hates it, mainly because it’s permanently attached to my hand.  It’s tiny and can do everything the netbook can so will basically be our second computer.  I’ve also kept my O2 contract so that we will have a phone number for people to contact us.
  4. Samsung phone: I have bought the cheapest 4 band pay as you go phone available, so that we can buy SIM cards in each country.  This will hopefully make sorting travel arrangements a lot easier.
  5. Nickon D90: I love taking photos. This is a great camera.  That is all.
  6. iPods: We have three of these, one classic we’ve had for years, and two touches, which are Eve and Ned’s very generous birthday and Christmas presents from their grandparents.  These will cover all our entertainment needs and will also be useful educationally.  Times tables are much more palatable if you are being tested by a computer instead of your mother.
  7. eReader: The thought of being without reading matter at any given time makes me twitchy.  This is really slim and light and can hold hundreds of books.  Now if I could just download and install the software properly, I’d be away.
  8. Flip: These tiny video cameras are amazing.  They have no wires, contain all the editing software you need and are very good quality.  They are also so easy the children can happily use them.

I think that’s it.   We will of course have a myriad of chargers and converters.  I keep breezily saying “Oh it’s not much really”, to which Steve replies “Well you can carry it then.”  I’ll let you know how I get on.

17 Responses to “Stuff with wires”

  1. Paula 30/09/2010 at 1:55 pm #

    You are taking a small elf, or perhaps a donkey to carry all of this aren’t you?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 1:59 pm #

      You sound like my husband. It will all fit in with no problem. I think. I haven’t actually tried…

  2. Marina K. Villatoro 30/09/2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Oh god! You are taking a lot of “stuff with wires” :)

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/10/2010 at 8:00 pm #

      I hope it packs up small!

  3. christinemosler 30/09/2010 at 9:25 pm #

    You are taking more gadgetry in your backpack than I have in my house! There is probably still time to join a gym and build those muscles.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/10/2010 at 8:00 pm #

      I’ve been lifting my hefty four year old to build up my biceps.

  4. Marylin 01/10/2010 at 10:45 pm #

    You have a D90… I am a jealous and sad panda. *sigh*

    This is exactly the reason I couldn’t go away though, I NEED my internet connection. Otherwise I’m a sad git with no friends! Heh.. *cough*

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/10/2010 at 7:59 pm #

      But I’ll have my internet connection, sort of, as long as we can get wifi. Every McDonalds in the world has wifi, so we’ll never have to look TOO far…

  5. thebowmanstravels 02/10/2010 at 7:10 pm #

    What’s really fun is trying to keep all that lot charged. Especially when you get to some small hostel or B&B only to find there is only plug socket in the whole room (or worse no socket at all!).

    I still remember now the weight of our ‘day sac’ which we used to keep with us – laptop, camera, mobiles, mp3’s, PSP’s.

    My very top tip (learnt early in the trip) always, and I mean always make sure your spare camera battery is charged – We arrived at the amazing Humayun’s tomb in Delhi to find both battery’s flat!! I still remember clearly my son framing a great shot with his fingers and thumbs and saying “That would make a great shot” with a cheeky grin on his face.

    Take care.
    Simon

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/10/2010 at 7:41 pm #

      Shall definitely invest in a power strip. Just don’t tell my husband…

  6. Tracy Burns 03/10/2010 at 2:27 am #

    Sounds very similar to our electronics pack! Need to hire a team of sherpas to carry our electronics. The clothes take up less room!

    Consider putting in a power board in.. one of those ones that you can plug 4 cords into. That way you only need one converter for the wall and you can charge multiple things at once. Hostels never have enough power points in the room. If you can find a universal power board all the better!

    I don’t know what they’re called but we have a small external battery pack for our ipod/iphone. They charge your ipod and give you a few extra hours of battery time… nothing worse than a 6hr bus trip with kids and you realise you forgot to charge the ipod. This is similar to the one we have… http://blog.malaysia-asia.my/2010/09/travel-charger-choiix-power-fort.html

    And plenty of USB-ipod charger cords!

    We also bought our old cheap pointnshoot digital camera for the kids to take photos with. Its great for schooling when they get to the writing stage – they can make their own powerpoint scrapbooks of their holiday with photos and writing text.

    And I’m guessing you have a cheap UV filter on your D90? I’ve dropped our Canon 500D with its ridiculously expensive superzoom lens twice in the past month… thankfully the cheap filter is all that smashed both times. Worth having one at all times.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/10/2010 at 7:57 pm #

      I always have a filter on my lens! For exactly the reason you describe. I’ve also dropped a camera and the only thing broken was the filter.

  7. Jason 03/10/2010 at 3:40 am #

    We have a 10.1″ Netbook and they are great for checking emails and looking at websites. But when it comes to typing lots of words, its awful! We are looking into a slim and lightweight laptop for our RTW trip. With photo and video editing and writing blog posts, the Netbook is just not going to work for us.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/10/2010 at 7:56 pm #

      It’s not great, but it’s better than nothing. And with the quantity of stuff we’ve got to carry, something had to give.

  8. Rachel 03/10/2010 at 7:57 am #

    Definately cram in a power strip – they are so cheap and light but so useful and as mentioned above you only need one travel adapter too. It sounds like a lot but it’s not really, most of it’s pretty small!
    We had 1 x laptop, 2 x hard drives in the end (1 x 60GB and 1 x 120GB for movies, lots of memory sticks, 4 x MP3’s and 2 x mobile phones. Oh and a DS! No sweat. Only a little camera though (with spare SD card as we were always running out of memory!).
    Get one of those packing cube things and lots of rubber bands for the chargers otherwise it’s like carring a bag of jelly snakes around with you.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/10/2010 at 7:58 pm #

      I think most of it’s pretty small too. I’m going to do a trial pack soon, to see if it really all does fit in. I hope it does…

  9. Nickie@Typecast 07/10/2010 at 7:55 pm #

    haha, it’s not you who needs to be built up – it’s the kids!! I hope they realise how much they’ll be carrying :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,384 other followers

